Social Work, Democracy And Self-Deception

Social Work Unplugged

My search for hidden meme-ing continues and as usual, it found me before I even stepped out to take a look. There are days when it seems I am the only voice of dissent in the worlds of FB and Twitter. Indeed, I cannot recall anything off of the top of my head that was about someone else questioning the views of social workers, on a page about social work. Usually a meme gets liked and shared faster than I can digest its meaning and that is part of what concerns me.

Rather than just go mad (or more mad) by not saying anything, I continue with (hopefully) gentle reminders about what may really be going on. I do remember adhering to the codes of my profession, spoken and unspoken, and how hard it was to look at myself, what I was doing and who I was doing it for.

View original post 311 more words

