How To Act Around Someone Who Was Just Diagnosed With #Cancer

TIME

xojane

This story originally appeared on xoJane.com.

I was diagnosed with thyroid cancer two years ago.

It was a confusing whirlwind where I felt more alive than ever, then flushed with the irony of that, became scared and isolated. And then I just wanted everything to go back to normal.

What I realized very quickly is that people don’t know what to say when something like this happens. And as someone who’s been on the other side, I thought I’d write a little bit about what helped me and what didn’t.

Listen and follow their lead.

When I wanted to talk about it, I talked about it. When I didn’t, I didn’t. If I’m not talking about it with you, I’ve made that choice.

There is a circling-the-wagons thing that happens with a cancer diagnosis, and the information and the fear and the mood swings can only be entrusted to…

View original post 1,378 more words

